Manchester City crowned 2018 Carabao Cup Champions

Manchester City are the 2018 Carabao Cup champions, following an emphatic 3-0 triumph over Arsenal in front of 85,671 fans at Wembley Stadium.

The game started at a fast pace with both sides beginning brightly, and it took a combination of Claudio Bravo and Kyle Walker to prevent Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from putting Arsenal in front.

It wasn’t long before Manchester City made the Gunners pay, Sergio Aguero shrugging off Shkodran Mustafi to race on to Bravo’s goal kick and deftly lob the onrushing David Ospina.

That 18th-minute strike was all that separated the teams at the break, but City moved up through the gears in the second half. Vincent Kompany had already come close with an effort deflected off target, but the skipper would not be denied a second time.

Approaching the hour mark, Ilkay Gundogan’s drilled effort was diverted home by the Belgian, doubling City’s advantage. Seven minutes later, David Silva was played through and his arrowed drive gave Ospina no chance, ending the Gunners’ already-fading hopes.

Kompany went on to be named as the Carabao Cup Man of the Match, winning the Alan Hardaker Trophy for the second time after earning the honour during the club’s 2016 success.

The triumph saw gave Pep Guardiola pick up his first piece of silverware in English football and took City’s League Cup tally to five, second in the all-time list behind eight-time winners Liverpool.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s